Chocolate Chip Cookie Success

Just a quicky…aren’t they all!

I love chocolate chip cookies.  I’ve tried several, made up a few and they work, but I really think I’ve found success!

See my problem is this, they always spread out and look like hockey pucks by the time they’re done.  Sure they taste good, but my dad with the devil ears and tail sits on my shoulder everytime I look at them and says “presentation presentation presentation.  People feast with their eyes first”  So I invariably hide said hockey pucks in a dark closet or throw them away.

Anyway, DH is headed out for the week and has hinted at least three times in the past 48 hours that he would like some chocolate chip cookies.  So I got to work on them.  He likes peanut butter and oatmeal as well, so this is what I did….

In exact order…

Pull the eggs (2) and butter (1 stick) out of the fridge and set it on the counter.  This (I think) is really the key to a successful bake is room temp butter and eggs.

After a few hours preheat your oven to 350.

Pull out the pans…I “pam”ed mine or you can silpat or parchment them whatever.  I have one Pampered chef cookie bar pan and then the normal silver cookie pans.  This will matter in a minute really…it’s not just a brag for my PC pan 🙂

Lets see now what do I do…

I put together the following…

1c white flour

1c whole wheat flour

2t baking soda

1/2t salt.

Then I whisk them together and set aside.

Now I pull out the handy dandy kitchen aid and dump the following in

that butter thats been sitting on the counter

1c peanut butter (I used Adams Natural Creamy PB)

1/2 c Crisco

1c sugar

2/3c brown sugar

1T vanilla

I cream these for 3 minutes on medium.

Now keep the mixer running…

add one egg and beat 1 minute then add the other egg and beat 1 minute

turn the mixer down to low (unless you want a flour cloud) and slowly add the flour.  Beat just until mixed BARELY!!!  turn it off.

Add 1c oats..i put mine through the blender so it was the texture of flour.

blend just barely

add 2c chocolate chips (I used semi sweet) barely blend

now take a big cookie scoop and wallop those things on the cookie sheets two to a row two to a column.

or the small cookie scoop is like 4×4 on the pan.

I put both sheets in the oven.

It took 12 minutes for the silver sheet and about 15m for the PC sheet (told you that info would come in handy)

I’ve learned the key is to NOT open the oven, it collapses the cookies.  I’ve learned also to leave the cookies on the sheet for 3 minutes after pulling them out of the oven.  That takes me to my next step.

Pull em out of the oven and set the time for 3 minutes.  Leave the cookies alone on the sheet for that long it allows them to finish baking and to set.  Now transfer them to  a cooling rack.

Pour a huge glass of milk, grab a plate of cookies and find a dark hiding spot cuz your not gonna wanna share these!

Hope you enjoy!

Give credit where credit is due.  The original recipe came from this site 

Leave a comment